Hello Lovelies! Please excuse our dust while we do a bit of construction on the blog. We will still be posting exciting reviews, brilliant guest posts, and exciting giveaways but we are in the process of transforming the blog and adding new content and features for you to enjoy.

Friday, August 23, 2013

Desire: Part 1 of The Dining Club by Marina Anderson

18210214 Title: Desire

Serialized Novel: The Dining Club Part 1

Author: Marina Anderson

Publisher: Forever Romance

Format: E-BOOK, $0.99, Release Date: August 20, 2013

ISBN-13: 9781455578078, ASIN: B00DY8HAH6

Rating: 3 Crowns

Forever Romance’s FIRST serialized novel—THE DINING CLUB by Marina Anderson released its first installment: DESIRE.

Young, ambitious theatre director Grace has no time for distractions, but she just cannot resist enigmatic city financier, David. Alluring, charismatic and an incredible lover - David never lets Grace get too close. So when he invites her to a weekend at his private club, Grace is thrilled.

Arriving at the secluded location, and excited by her nerves, David reveals the truth behind the Dining Club: a place where guests are taught to open their minds, and their bodies to erotic challenges. If she passes the tests, she is promised ecstasy beyond her wildest fantasies. If she fails, she's forbidden to ever set foot in the exclusive club again. But even as David's seductive commands make Grace feel more daring than ever before, she begins to fear for their future. What if she fails one of the Club's tantalizing trials? Will David still want her or will she lose him forever? (from the publisher)

My Thoughts:

As this is the first of eight installments in a serialized novel, it’s only 30-odd pages, which makes it a bit hard to give a complete review. While nothing major happens, you’re introduced to Grace and David. They have been together for six months; she’s starting to fall in love with him but knows he’s not in love with her yet. Needing more from Grace, David invites her to The Dining Club a place where he can let his guard down and be himself while experiencing all his erotic fantasies. If Grace fails at The Dining Club, it’s over between her and David.

Desire opens with Grace and David lying in bed after having sex and ends with them arriving at the Dining Club. Nothing else really happens, (expect for biting--lots of biting,) and and due to the brief introduction to the characters, they feel like two cold fish flopping around on the ground waiting for someone to throw them back in the water.

As with all serialized novels, the first part was like reading chapter one of a novel, it only takes the reader so far before ending.

Desire was tame for an erotic novel although it gives you a snippet of wilder things to come in the installments to follow. I have to admit I wasn’t overly thrilled with David’s desire to achieve pleasure through pain. His propensity for biting Grace had me wondering if he would have made a better vampire. If I’m being honest, kind of found David a little creepy and have a feeling that his creepiness will only continue once The Dining Club is explored a little more.

Overall, I’m not sure about this yet. Once I have read the entire novel, perhaps I will be able to figure out whether or not this serialized novel is for me.

The Dining Club will be published in 8 installments—one out each week—and will continuing through October 1st.


Reviewed by: Angela Simmons

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

I have never heard of this e-book until reading this review, then I went over to amazon and purchased it, now I cannot wait to read the entire book of The Dining Club.